Skip to main content

Minjung Kim Wins Inaugural CESR Three Minute Thesis Competition in Sustainability

(L-R) Sweers, Kim, and EdgingtonCESR announced the winners of its Three Minute Thesis competition on June 6th, with Chemistry PhD student Minjung Kim finishing in first place for “Shining Light on Molecular Nets for CO2 Capture and Release on Demand”.  Second place went to Matthew Sweers (Materials Science) for “Anion Tuning of Perovskite Materials”, and Jane Edgington (ChemBE) took third for “Electrifying Change: Improving Catalysts for Electrochemical Water Splitting”.  Each winner received a cash prize.  Thank you to all of our entrants, as well as to our judges Cécile ChazotBill MillerLauren Valentino, and Karen Weigert.

The Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) is an academic research communication competition developed by The University of Queensland (UQ), Australia.  Participation was open to any Northwestern Ph.D. student working in sustainability, with entrants submitting a three minute, video-recorded summary of their work in language appropriate for a lay audience.  Entry allows students to consider and practice how they communicate their work in a lighthearted setting.  All of this year’s entries can be found via the link below.  

Learn More

[an error occurred while processing this directive] Back to top